Rib® Wedge canopy at Rudd’s, Blackfriars
RIB® wedge canopies are a popular design of commercial canopies due to their rigid structure and the opportunity for clear branding on the flat surfaces. This RIB® wedge canopy we have installed at Rudd’s Bar, Queen Victoria Street, London, EC4 is constructed using our bespoke system of manufacture, which is a rigid assembly technique, unique to us. This particular RIB wedge canopy demonstrates the aforementioned branding possibilities which have been exploited using our unique RAGS® graphics process which ensures a crisp, clean graphic replicating perfectly the client’s branding style. The extreme rigidity of the RIB wedge canopy is made possible by the manufacturing process we have developed, incorporating light weight aluminium profiles fitted together without the use of degradable plastic parts; the construction ensures exceptional resistance to weathering. Further, the RIB® manufacturing system gives the fabric wedge canopy cover a particularly high tension which ensures the client branding is presented in a bold manner which resists the accumulation of dust and dirt.
Rudds of Blackfriars is one the last family owned pubs in the City. With a Cocktail and Spirits list, which are complimented with range of varied bar food and snacks. This pub has a medieval look with beams etc. The name commemorates a nearby castle, built in the reign of William the Conqueror and some of the remains can still be seen. The pub has numerous levels and an upstairs games room for pool. The staff are friendly and chatty and make sure everyone has an enjoyable time. There are TVs inside playing sport, and the upstairs bar and area is available for hire.
The area Blackfriars was first used in 1317 (as Black Frères from the French ‘frère’ meaning ‘brother’) and derives from the black head gear worn by the Dominican Friars who moved their priory from Holborn to the area between the River Thames and Ludgate Hill in about 1276. In Edward 1’s time permission was given to rebuild London’s city wall, which lay between the river and Ludgate Hill, around the Blackfriars area. The site was used for great occasions of state, which included meetings of Parliament and the Privy Council and state visits, such as that of Charles V of France in 1522. Famously, the divorce hearing of Catherine of Aragon and Henry VIII also took place here. The priory was closed down in 1538 during Henry’s dissolution of the monasteries.